Vice President of the Germany’s Parliament Leads a Delegation to Taiwan

Created:2011-06-16Data Source:Bureau Of Consular AffairsCounter:1050405

No. 196 
June 15, 2011

Vice President of the Bundestag (Germany’s parliament) Mr. Hermann Otto Solms, from the Free Democratic Party (FDP), is leading a six-member delegation to Taiwan from June 13 to June 15, 2011. The delegation consists of Mrs. Solms, the Bundestag’s Deputy Director of Protocol Mr. Alexander Troche and three Bundestag members – Mr. Joerg van Essen (FDP), Mr. Manfred Grund of the Christian Democratic Union (CDU) and Mrs. Petra Ernstberger of the Social Democratic Party (SPD).

The delegation will call on President Ma Ying-jeou, President of the Straits Exchange Foundation Dr. Chang Ping-kun, Chairman of the Council for Economic Planning and Development Dr. Christina Y. Liu, Minister without Portfolio Mr. Chang Chin-fu, Minister of the Environmental Protection Administration Mr. Shen Shu-hung and Chairperson of the Democratic Progressive Party Ms. Tsai Ing-wen. 

Vice President of the Legislative Yuan Mr. Tseng Yung-chuan and Minister of Foreign Affairs Mr. Timothy C. T. Yang will host separate luncheons for the delegation. The members will also visit Hsinchu Science Park and the National Palace Museum, as well as meet with representatives of German enterprises in Taiwan.

Dr. Solms, a fiscal policy expert and nine-term Bundestag member, has served as both Vice Chairman and Chairman of the FDP-Caucus in the Bundestag. He has also been the Vice President of the Bundestag since October 1998. The other three Bundestag members have served for five terms and follow Taiwan’s situation closely. Being here will give the delegation a better understanding of the most recent political, economic and cultural developments in Taiwan, which will in turn help promote parliamentary cooperation. (E)