Visa-exemption for holders of diplomatic or official/service passports

Foreign nationals	1. Nationals of the following countries are eligible for the visa
eligible for	exemption program, with a duration of stay of up to 90
visa-exempt entry:	days: Andorra, Australia (effective from January 1, 2015, to
	December 31, 2021), Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bulgaria,
	Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark,
	Dominican Republic, Estonia, Eswatini, Finland, France,
	Germany, Greece, Guatemala, the Holy See, Honduras,
	Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Republic of
	Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta,
	Marshall Islands, Monaco, Nauru, Netherlands, New
	Zealand, Nicaragua, North Macedonia (effective from May
	21, 2018, to March 31, 2025), Norway, Palau, Paraguay,
	Poland, Portugal, Romania, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia,
	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Slovakia,
	Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tuvalu, UK, USA.
	2. Nationals of the following countries are eligible for the visa
	exemption program, with a duration of stay of up to 30
	days: Malaysia, Singapore.
Requirements:	1. passport with remaining validity of at least six months as of
	the date of entry
	Japanese nationals whose passport has remaining validity of
	more than three months are eligible for visa-exempt entry.
	• US passport holders whose passport is valid for the intended
	period of stay are eligible for visa-exempt entry.
	2. confirmed return air/sea ticket or an air/sea ticket and a
	visa for the next destination, and a confirmed seat
	reservation for departure
	3. not determined by immigration officers at ports of entry in
	the ROC to be otherwise inadmissible
Limitation :	The above-said practice does not apply to those who are ROC
	nationals or who are not regarded as foreigners in accordance
	with the legislation of ROC, e.g. holders of diplomatic and
	official passports of the Holy See with their nationality
	marked TWN, CHNC, HKG. or MAC.
Duration of stay:	1. The duration of stay starts from the day after arrival and is
	not extendable. Foreign visitors must depart by the end of
	the said duration. <u>Please click here for information on</u>

	·
	penalties for overstay.
	2. Visa-exempt entry cannot be converted to visa-based stay,
	unless any of the following applies:
	Foreign nationals entering the ROC through visa exemption
	may only apply for conversion to a visitor visa within the
	permitted duration of stay at the Bureau of Consular Affairs or
	MOFA branch offices in the event of situations that prevent
	them from leaving the ROC, such as severe acute illness,
	natural disaster, or other force majeure reason.
Ports of entry:	Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport, Taipei Songshan
	Airport, Taichung International Airport, Chiayi Airport, Tainan
	Airport, Kaohsiung International Airport, Taitung Airport,
	Hualien Airport, Kinmen Airport, Magong Airport, Keelung
	Harbor, Taipei Harbor, Taichung Harbor, Kaohsiung Harbor,
	Hualien Harbor, Shuitou Harbor, and Fu'ao Harbor.

Remarks:

- 1. Nationals who have entered Taiwan visa-free for purposes that do not require a permit—such as tourism, visiting friends or relatives, social visits, conducting business, attending exhibitions, fact-finding missions, and international exchanges—who then intend to engage in activities that, according to the laws and regulations of relevant agencies, do require a permit must still obtain such a permit.
- 2. According to Article 14 of the Regulations for Exit of Draftees, a draftee having maintained his household registration in Taiwan shall enter into and depart from Taiwan by presenting his ROC passport; any draftee duly subject to conscription entering into Taiwan by presenting a foreign passport shall be restricted from departing from Taiwan.
- 3. Before arriving in Taiwan, please complete an <u>online immigration arrival card</u> on the website of the National Immigration Agency.

For conscription law, please visit the following website: http://www.immigration.gov.tw